Slightly Amended Climate Change Bill House #15

Vote Description

This was a vote on S.30, which is a slightly amended version of S.9, An Act creating a next-generation roadmap for Massachusetts climate policy. This bill was previously voted on last session, and the governor vetoed it. It was also refiled, and voted on at the beginning of this new session (without a recorded vote in the Senate) and the governor amended it and sent it back to the legislature. The legislature adopted some of the technical amendments that the governor offered, but none that would change major policy in this bill. This bill sets an arbitrary GHG emissions reduction goal of net-zero emissions by 2050 and sets incremental sublimits every five years to get there. It does this by mandating limits on carbon emissions by sector: electric power, transportation, commercial and industrial heating and cooling, residential heating and cooling, industrial processes, and natural gas distribution and service. These arbitrary limits will mean drastic and costly changes in certain sectors in order to stay under the limit, and leaves the power to make these changes in the hands of unelected bureaucrats. In addition, it sets new CA style energy efficiency standards on appliances and fixtures you are allowed to purchase and install in your house or business. It also allows for changes to the state building code, which is now in the hands of DOER, not BBRS, and allows towns to adopt their own net-zero stretch energy codes and changes the make-up of the state board of building regulations and standards (BBRS.) Essentially this bill allows for drastic regulatory oversight and increased costly burdens by unelected bureaucrats, on the people of MA for the foreseeable future.

Mass Fiscal Explanation

Mass Fiscal does not support this bill due to the lack of good government sensibility by handing over regulatory and taxing authority to unelected bureaucrats, as well as government overreach with costly and burdensome regulations on residents and small businesses. You can find the bill here:

Mass Fiscal's Stance

Fiscal Responsibility Vote

Good Government Vote

Vote result on 03/18/2021




Find A Legislature

James ArcieroSecond Middlesex 0%
Brian M. AsheSecond Hampden 4%
Bruce J. AyersFirst Norfolk 0%
Ruth B. BalserTwelfth Middlesex 0%
Christine P. Barber34th Middlesex 0%
John BarrettFirst Berkshire 0%
F. Jay BarrowsFirst Bristol 88%
Donnie R. Berthiaume5th Worcester 100%
David Biele4th Suffolk 0%
Natalie Blais1st Franklin 0%
Nicholas A. BoldygaThird Hampden 100%
Antonio F.D. CabralThirteenth Bristol 0%
Dan CahillTenth Essex 0%
Linda Dean CampbellFifteenth Essex 0%
Pete Capano11th Essex 0%
Dan Carey2rd Hampshire 0%
Gerard Cassidy9th Plymouth 0%
Tackey ChanSecond Norfolk 0%
Michelle Ciccolo15th Middlesex 4%
Mike Connolly26th Middlesex 38%
Rob Consalvo14th Suffolk 0%
Edward F. CoppingerTenth Suffolk 0%
Mark J. CusackFifth Norfolk 8%
Josh S. CutlerSixth Plymouth 0%
Angelo L. D'EmiliaEighth Plymouth 92%
Michael Day31st Middlesex 0%
Marjorie C. DeckerTwenty-Fifth Middlesex 0%
David F. DeCoste5th Plymouth 100%
Marcos A. Devers16th Essex 0%
Kip Diggs2nd Barnstable 0%
Carol DohertyThird Bristol 8%
Mindy Domb3rd Hampshire 0%
Daniel M. Donahue16th Worcester 0%
Paul J. DonatoThirty-Fifth Middlesex 0%
Shawn Dooley9th Norfolk 92%
William Driscoll7th Norfolk 0%
Michelle M. DuBois10th Plymouth 0%
Patricia Duffy5th Hampden 0%
Peter DurantSixth Worcester 96%
Carolyn C. DykemaEighth Middlesex 0%
Lori A. EhrlichEighth Essex 0%
Nika Elugardo15th Suffolk 35%
Tricia Farley-BouvierThird Berkshire 0%
Kimberly N. FergusonFirst Worcester 88%
Dylan FernandesBarnstable, Dukes and Nantucket 0%
Ann-Margaret FerranteFifth Essex 4%
Michael J. FinnSixth Hampden 4%
Carole Fiola6th Bristol 0%
Brandy Fluker Oakley12th Suffolk 4%
Paul K. FrostSeventh Worcester 100%
William C. GalvinSixth Norfolk 4%
Sean GarballeyTwenty-Third Middlesex 0%
Denise C. GarlickThirteenth Norfolk 0%
Colleen M. GarryThirty-Sixth Middlesex 69%
Carmine Gentile13th Middlesex 0%
Jessica Giannino16th Suffolk 0%
Susan Williams GiffordSecond Plymouth 88%
Thomas A. GoldenSixteenth Middlesex 0%
Carlos Gonzalez10th Hampden 0%
Ken GordonTwenty-First Middlesex 0%
Tami Gouveia14th Middlesex 31%
Danielle W. GregoireFourth Middlesex 0%
Patricia A. HaddadFifth Bristol 0%
Richard Haggerty30th Middlesex 0%
Sheila C. HarringtonFirst Middlesex 82%
James HawkinsSecond Bristol 0%
Chris Hendricks11th Bristol 0%
Natalie Higgins4th Worcester 4%
Bradford HillFourth Essex 88%
Kate HoganThird Middlesex 0%
Russell E. HolmesSixth Suffolk 19%
Kevin G. HonanSeventeenth Suffolk 0%
Vanna Howard17th Middlesex 0%
Steven S. HowittFourth Bristol 88%
Daniel Hunt13th Suffolk 0%
Bradley H. JonesTwentieth Middlesex 88%
Hannah Kane11th Worcester 88%
Patrick Kearney4th Plymouth 14%
Mary S. KeefeFifteenth Worcester 0%
James M. Kelcourse1st Essex 88%
Sally Kerans13th Essex 0%
Kay KhanEleventh Middlesex 0%
Meghan Kilcoyne12th Worcester 0%
Michael Kushmerek3rd Worcester 0%
Kathy LaNatra12th Plymouth 0%
John J. LawnTenth Middlesex 0%
David LeBoeuf17th Worcester 4%
Jack Patrick Lewis7th Middlesex 0%
David Paul LinskyFifth Middlesex 0%
Kate Lipper-GarabedianThirty-Second Middlesex 0%
Jay LivingstoneEighth Suffolk 0%
Marc T. LombardoTwenty-Second Middlesex 100%
Adrian Madaro1st Suffolk 0%
John J. MahoneyThirteenth Worcester 0%
Elizabeth A. MaliaEleventh Suffolk 0%
Ronald MarianoThird Norfolk 0%
Paul W. MarkSecond Berkshire 0%
Christopher M. MarkeyNinth Bristol 23%
Joseph W. McGonagle28th Middlesex 0%
Joseph D. McKenna18th Worcester 96%
Paul McMurtryEleventh Norfolk 0%
Joan Meschino3rd Plymouth 4%
Aaron M. MichlewitzThird Suffolk 0%
Christina Minicucci14th Essex 0%
Liz Miranda5th Suffolk 4%
Lenny MirraSecond Essex 92%
Rady Mom18th Middlesex 0%
Frank A. MoranSeventeenth Essex 0%
Michael J. MoranEighteenth Suffolk 0%
David Muradian9th Worcester 88%
Mathew J. Muratore1st Plymouth 88%
James M. MurphyFourth Norfolk 0%
Brian Murray10th Worcester 8%
Tram Nguyen18th Essex 0%
James J. O'DayFourteenth Worcester 0%
Jake Oliveira7th Hampden 0%
Norm Orrall12th Bristol 100%
Steve Owens29th Middlesex 8%
Jerald A. ParisellaSixth Essex 0%
Sarah K. PeakeFourth Barnstable 0%
Kelly Pease4th Hampden 100%
Alice Hanlon PeischFourteenth Norfolk 0%
Ted Phillips8th Norfolk 0%
William Smitty PignatelliFourth Berkshire 0%
Angelo J. PuppoloTwelfth Hampden 4%
Orlando Ramos9th Hampden 0%
David Robertson19th Middlesex 27%
Maria Robinson6th Middlesex 0%
David M. RogersTwenty-Fourth Middlesex 0%
John H. RogersTwelfth Norfolk 8%
Jeffrey N. RoyTenth Norfolk 0%
Daniel Ryan2nd Suffolk 0%
Lindsay Sabadosa1st Hampshire 0%
Jon Santiago9th Suffolk 0%
Adam Scanlon14th Bristol 15%
Paul A. SchmidEighth Bristol 4%
Danillo SenaThirty-Seventh Middlesex 8%
Alan SilviaSeventh Bristol 8%
Todd M. SmolaFirst Hampden 88%
Michael Soter8th Worcester 85%
Thomas M. StanleyNinth Middlesex 0%
William M. StrausTenth Bristol 0%
Alyson Sullivan-Almeida7th Plymouth 100%
Paul F. Tucker6th Essex 0%
Chynah Tyler7th Suffolk 0%
Steven Ultrino33rd Middlesex 0%
Erika Uyterhoeven27th Middlesex 42%
Andy VargasThird Essex 0%
David T. VieiraThird Barnstable 96%
Tommy Vitolo15th Norfolk 0%
Joseph F. WagnerEighth Hampden 0%
Tom Walsh12th Essex 8%
Timothy R. Whelan1st Barnstable 88%
Susannah M. Whipps2nd Franklin 8%
Bud Williams11th Hampden 0%
Donald H. WongNinth Essex 88%
Steve Xiarhos5th Barnstable 92%
Jonathan D. ZlotnikSecond Worcester 0%